Forums are back in action! ×

Slates Intro, SUPER psyched to be here!

I’m Slates and I’m new to NF. In fact, I found out about it maybe a week ago and have been reading the forums in my downtime non-stop. I’m a 26 y.o. in the DC area in the US, with a decent desk job I love and am fortunate enough to have already paid off undergrad school loans, bought a house last year and adopted a dog on top of already having 2 cats.

I've always had issues with body image, falling in and out of both diets and eating disorders since my first year of high school and always struggled with food. I always was able to pick up and do some workouts and the weight would go fairly easily so after a month or two I’d stop because I was ‘where I wanted to be’ weight wise and I didn't really have any motivation to keep at it…and then the weight would creep back along with the pesky body image thoughts, which led to depressive episodes and a few eating disorders. I've been disorder free for a few years now, but those thoughts are sometimes right around the corner at the most unexpected times and I’m ready to completely get rid of them and step into a healthy new lifestyle. I want to prove to myself that I can get the physique I always wanted by not only eating well but by keeping up a workout regimen that keeps my mind and body healthy.

Along with working a full time job, I’m in the process of getting my Master’s degree (hopefully in Nov.!!) so my schedule is full. I kept using the excuse “oh, between work, school, caring for the house, pets and setting time aside for the S.O. I really can’t commit to anything.†But that’s not true. I always found time to browse imgur for hours, play ESO, WoW, Rift or Diablo III and/or sit on the couch and binge-watch Trailer Park Boys, Psych, 30 Rock, Archer or watch all 3 seasons of GoT on DVD, AGAIN…usually while enjoying some kind of awful snack or drinking craft beer. I always thought of this as MY time to unwind.