Forums are back in action! ×

Hello! Looking for motivation...

Hi!

I'm a 29 (thirty next month!) year old newly-minted attorney in California.  I got married in October, passed the bar in December, and have been looking for work since then.  My husband and I still live with my mother-in-law, because we're still underemployed and it's Southern California.  We would like to start a family soon, but it's contingent on being able to afford the darn things.  Additionally, my grandmother, in Washington state, is going soon, and his grandfather with Alzheimer's has moved in with us.  My husband (a nurse) has taken on night nurse duties, which generally means that neither of us has slept a full night in over a month.

In the meantime...I've been overweight since the age of 11.  The only time I was able to actually lose weight (and keep it off) was when I moved to a foreign country right after college.  When I graduated, I was around 200 pounds.  I have no idea how much I lost, but none of my clothes fit after about two months.  Unfortunately, since I moved to an Asian country, replacing my clothing still proved difficult.  I did find that I LOVED snowboarding, so started trying to work out more often so that I could increase my endurance and strength for the winter seasons.  I did three 10ks while there, and went running with my roommate 3 or 4 times a week.