Forums are back in action! ×

Push Ups are my Nemesis

Hi :)

I'm a complete geek who loves Star Trek (TNG), LOTR, squats, Discworld, deadlifts, shooting zombies and running. I've been reading NF for about 6 months and it has changed my whole attitude towards fitness and training in nearly every regard.

The exception is the ******* push up!

Partly through a general lack of upper body strength and partly through a lack of willingness to do the things, push ups are my biggest weakness in fitness and have been since I was 17. I'm in my final year of an engineering degree and I've decided I have to get the push ups sorted out before I finish university this year.

My other biggest issue is my diet. I'm generally pretty healthy but I seem to indulge my vending machine habit far too often. I'm hoping that being part of the rebellion can help me to quit my crisps and chocolate habit. I'll be doing the next challenge and moving away from junk food will be one of my goals, along with the push ups.

I definitely want to do a pull up and an ironman at some point, as well as get my dead lift to 2xBW. I'd like to get to the point of eating 80-90% paleo (I'll die before I give up cheese!) but that probably won't be possible for a while yet.

Ok cutting off this novel now!

LadyM :)

• Like 2

Level 0 Elf

Challenge

“It is said that your life flashes before your eyes just before you die. That is true, it's called Life.†-- Terry Pratchett

Welcome!

I started here unable to do a single pushup. It was as if all the required muscles were simply missing. I started out on knee pushups, just a few - 8 I think - and worked up, then tried real ones. Yoga helped - there's a transition between two poses that''s basically half a pushup and really helped with positioning. Then one day, it just clicked, and I did a small amount of real ones. Once you know how, just increase by as many as you can each day, even if it's just one.