Forums are back in action! ×

Why I Need A Proper Subroutine...

Guest GuitarKat

Guest GuitarKat

I'm new here (duh, right?). I'm a programmer, mostly in the web application development and design area, but also a print designer and graphic designer (where I started). I work for myself... and that's why I'm here....

I'm already in pretty decent shape. I used to be underweight for a fair bit of my life as I was simply told by my doctor that my metabolism ran a little faster, this eventually became a problem for me when I was in competitive swimming and had to give it up because I just couldn't keep up my calorie intake versus what I was burning, it turned out he was wrong, however. Running fast in the system already and then doing some intense dryland for half an hour (running around in a circle, well, a bigger circle, and wall sits) then hitting the pool for a couple of hours a day doing drills in the swim lanes... every week day after school. Except weekends, those were for meets with other swim clubs.

That was not the only sport that I did but I considered it my most intense one... which is actually good for your body as it is low impact.

I was really doing just too much. I eventually did cut out the swimming as it was taking up a lot of time as well. Did I gain weight after that? No. The doctor's concerns were wrong... I was obviously taking in enough calories to keep going, but I stopped as well because of time restrictions. I'm finally getting to my "Freshmen 15" (actually only "Freshman 10") 6 years after I started college. I took full time for 5 years and did part time for 1... and will be going back soon, but for once I wanted a Fall where I didn't have to head back to school in any shape, way or form! The weight gain is actually very good for me as I was underweight for the longest time (my whole life up to this point) and as I'm still fairly active, I'll take it as a good thing (for now).