Forums are back in action! ×

Hey All, 

I've been a reader of Nerd Fitness for quite a while and I finally decided to actually involve myself in the community. 

I'm proficient in many areas of geekdom and nerdery. The word "fan" doesn't really do justice to my abiding love for J.R.R. Tolkien. I like both Star Trek and Star Wars, though I probably like Star Wars more. I've been a gamer for years, including computer games, pen and paper RPG's, and military miniatures historical war gaming. 

I'm also a student of history, philosophy, and theology. 

I have been a computer programmer, by career, for the last 5 1/2 years, but starting in August I will be transitioning to education and will be teaching programming at a local technical college. 

My fitness problems began in my early teens. I was always a pretty active kid but my parents decided to home school me starting in 5th grade due to the demonstrated poor quality of our local school district. Homeschooling was a relatively new phenomenon at the time and I didn't have many outlets for activities, and I didn't make my own. As a result I developed a sedentary lifestyle from that point on. I have gradually gained weight since that point, with a few exceptions. 

In my teens I developed the identity that was fat and just accepted that as who I was. Family members occasionally tried to motivate me to do something about my weight gain etc. They were always nice about it, but it always amounted to "you know your getting overweight, you should do something about it". The problem was I didn't know what to do about it, and I convinced myself, because I didn't want to diet, that there was nothing I could do about it. 

Looking back at pictures now, I really wasn't very overweight. At the time I thought of myself as fat but I wasn't nearly as bad off as I perceived myself to be.