Forums are back in action! ×

Hi from the UK (warning: epic post inside)

Hi everyone :)

I'm a long time reader of the site and I've spent a long time here reading everything there is to read and trying most of it (with impressive results so far). Long story ahead – sorry about that…

Let me start at the beginning. I'm a doctor by trade, specifically an orthopaedic surgical trainee, and as a result spend long hours on-call in the hospital, usually walking a few miles a day and occasionally operating on people's bones but only rarely sitting on my ass doing nothing. Despite this, I always used to eat a poor diet because I was always one of those lucky kids who could eat anything and everything I wanted and never put on any weight (I suppose I still am that way inclined, to some extent, but it’s not quite so pronounced any more). I'd always have breakfast, but more often than not it'd be some toast or some cereal. During the day, I would eat whatever I could throw down my neck between patients, and busy days usually resulted in my skipping lunch, grabbing some chocolate or some pop from a vending machine. More often than not I'd grab something carb-heavy or greasy and deep-fried from the hospital canteen. On occasion, I'd bring my own packup with me to work but it'd usually be whatever was left over from last night, which was invariably far too much food anyway and usually ended up being a load of pasta or something similar. I was also drinking a few bottles of beer and cider during the week, and occasionally myself and the missus polished off a bottle of wine a night between us. I also used to smoke - not a lot, but still - and, other than being at work, I did little to no exercise of any sort. (I stopped the smoking cold-turkey in July of last year and have never looked back).