Forums are back in action! ×

A whirlwind of changes

Hi, my name is Tony, and I'm new here.

A whole bunch of changes in my life have led to me deciding to shape myself up a bit. I'm an engineering student but due to some mental health issues I'm taking this semester off and I'm just taking some writing classes at a local college near home. I'm only taking about a class a day and it's going to be a lot less stressful than my usual life (18 hours of class a week, leadership stuff, generally being stressed) and I had always tried to get myself on track with exercising but things kept coming up. So, now that I've got the time to really set myself into a schedule, I'm going to do it. I'm also trying to eat healthier and all that jazz.

Just as a sort of background for my experience with fitness, I played sports year round all the way through high school; soccer in the fall, basketball in the winter, track in the spring, training/paintball in the summer. So I've always been relatively fit, but I'm 3 years into college and I haven't been as active as I used to be and I want to get back to that. As for some goals:

-Compete in American Ninja Warrior. This is sort of a really long term goal. It's something I've always been interested in and just this summer my little cousin decided that she wants to see me on it so I'm certainly going to use it as a goal.

-Compete in 5 Tough Mudders. I've already done 1 and loved it. I just want to build it up as something that I do every year.

-And I really want to use my body's weight efficiently. I've gained some weight this summer, which marks the first time in 5 years I think that I've managed to actually gain weight, but I want to be gaining muscle and not fat, so I need to work on that. I currently am 5' 10" and weigh around 170 lbs(I used to weigh 150) and I'd really like to lose 10 lbs or so while making sure that my remaining weight is more muscle. No idea what my % body fat is but I'd certainly like to work on that.