Forums are back in action! ×

Intrinsic motivation and exercise adherence

No longer being a student I don't have access to any full-text journal article I want. Therefore I cannot find the exact article I was thinking of. Anyhow the literature is pretty solid and there are plenty of other articles covering the same thing. This one has the closest fit to the particular article I am thinking of.

Here's the gist of the article from memory:

Students joining a gym were given a survey to measure their motivators; extrinsic such as body image, social pressure etc and intrinsic such as enjoyment.

On joining, extrinsic motivators very abundant among the sample. After 6 months, intrinsic motivators were dominant (among those still going to the gym).

The causal link could go in either direction although probably works both ways:

- Intrinsic motivators grow with time spent exercising

- Those high in intrinsic motivators will stick to it

I forget the particulars of the study (forgive me) but I do remember that the statistical analysis of results left both interpretations plausible.

The crux of this is that you need to be active because you like it. Your motivation has to come from inside. Perhaps it is possible though, if you can grind through a new exercise routine long enough while feeling meh, intrinsic motivation will begin to kick in and this should keep you going.

This all popped into my head after reading Steve's article on giving a **** today. I love Office Space too.

The whole enjoyment, intrinsic motivation thing works pretty well with the play aspect of primal fitness too huh?

By the way, intrinsic motivation beats extrinsic in many settings. Psyc researchers find time and time again that adherence, effort etc will drop when you introduce an extrinsic motivator... like PAYING people. No wonder working for the man is so undesirable ;)