Forums are back in action! ×

Building a Better Life

Hey everyone. My name is Jay, and I'm pretty new to this whole fitness thing -- at least as far as strength training is concerned. I'm not terribly out of shape thanks to good genes and 3 kids, but I'm nowhere near where I'd like to be. Current state looks like this:

I live in Portland, Oregon, am 31 years old, 6'7", ~250lbs, former daily herb smoker, and have never done a single pull-up in my life.

I've been eating primal/paleo for just over a month now (down 20+ pounds already!), and have had intermittent bouts with it in the past. Same goes for exercise. Had a 6-month tear in 2009 where I was eating according to the Abs Diet, doing a lot of cardio and a little bit of machine work.

But I always backslide.

I got linked to Nerd Fitness via the Mark's Daily Apple message boards, and while everyone over there is super nice, I think I prefer the somewhat younger/nerdier vibe over here.

You may be wondering what makes me think I won't backslide again? Well, all the previous times I've tried to lock down my health, they were born from a perceived requirement to be someone who eats healthy/exercises a la the food pyramid and jerk-off trainers at 24hr Fitness. Only recently have I made some simple yet radical shifts in my way of thinking:

1. Feeling obligated to get in shape leaves me devoid of a key component to success -- drive. I'm pretty sure I never really wanted to/cared about being fit. Now I've finally attached my fitness goals to tangible things, such as wanting to be pain-free, have more energy, and live to meet my great grandkids. Because of this, I actually want to make myself better and am actively looking forward to it. The best pay off so far is that deeper I go into it, the more I find I like the guy I'm becoming.

2. Being healthy doesn't mean crappy food, neverending workouts, and zero fun. Now I eat great food, forgo the expensive unitasking gym equipment, and get outside and play.