Forums are back in action! ×

Girl seeks return to health, sanity

I'm not sure where to start, so I guess I'll pick a point and go.

I'm 23 years old and I currently live near Boston with my fiance, but in a few short months we'll be moving back to the eastern half of MA (Pittsfield, Lenox, Lee area).

We lived there before, two years ago, and my couple of years there marked some of the worst of my life. My weight ballooned upwards of 200 lbs (which on my 5'2" frame is not pretty). I was depressed and suffered two psychological collapses that resulted in me getting to stay in the hospital for a week, each time. I hated the jobs I had to do and hated the hours and stress even more (I am a chef, though I am now a student to change my career).

Part of my agreement with my partner to move back was that I wanted the freedom to focus on my studies, and to focus on myself. Namely, my health, both physically and mentally.

I'm 5'2" and my weight fluctuates between 175 and 190lbs. I have trouble sleeping. My depression and anxiety comes and goes in wild, erratic ways. My periods are no longer regular and I show signs of PCOS... I want to have children in the next few years and even if I can get pregnant, what kind of mother would I be to bring them into an environment with a mother so in shambles? What kind of example would I be setting? In short.. I am very tired of it. Fed up. Over it. My greatest fear with this move is that I'll go back to the way it was before- taco bell every night, lazing around on the couch in front of my laptop playing video games, spiraling into a hazy depression. So I am taking that fear and am going to channel it into action.

1. No more eating out. I'm cooking at home, and will try to do the bulk of my cooking on Sunday. Prep out portions, make "make-ahead" food, all ready to go.