Forums are back in action! ×

Hi all,

I'm a brand new recruit and love the atmosphere here already.

A few things about me:

I'm 35, female, 172cm, 60kg, body fat % approx. 30% (on those crappy scales at the gym).

I'm a mechanical engineer with a physics degree and a speciality in subsea oil and gas.

I'm a massive Tolkien fan, read the LoTR the first time at age 8 and haven't stopped re-reading since. Named my dog after Luthien's dog in the Silmarillion.

I live with my husband and our 2 year old son.

After a lifetime of nerdy, uncoordinated couch-potato-ism, I started out in my late 20's with running when I got drunk with some mates and they dared me to run a half marathon. So I did it. Then I got hooked, and did some more, and got injured. That's when I looked into strength training as a way to protect myself from over-use injuries. Then I got strong, did the 300 challenge, trained for my first marathon, got my PT qualification and got excited. 5 weeks out from my first marathon, I found out I was 5 weeks pregnant! I still ran on race day, but just the 10k, not the marathon.

These days I'm in a totally different world of toddler care and part time work. I rarely get to the gym or out for a long run. I haven't run more than 5k for over a year and I really feel it.

Goals:

Get strong! Get back to being able to do 50 push ups. Be able to complete at least 5 pull ups (currently can't do 1).

Get running! Run a 5k race before the end of the year. Complete the "Walk to Rivendell" section of the Eowyn Challenge.

Plan of attack at the moment:

Do 1 gym weights session and 2 x NF body weight strength sessions per week

Walk with my dog 1st thing every morning. Turn walks into runs, starting with 1 per week and working up.

Learn Chi Running technique and apply it to walks and runs.

Other plans and ideas will come I'm sure as I continue reading here.

• Like 1

From the ashes a fire shall be woken

Welcome!!