Forums are back in action! ×

Study Strategies

There's no short cut to discipline.  Physically/electronically separating yourself from distractions as much as you can will help - turn off your phone, disconnect the Internet or set up blockers.  At the end of the day though, it's about momentum.  Force yourself to focus for the first 30 minutes, and then you'll get into a good groove and won't think twice about it.

If you quit before you even start, you'll never move forward!

Think of it, like we're supposed to think about fitness here, as a game. In fact, you might want to find a way to make a game out of it. Flash cards and quizzing yourself are a start, as well as coming up with ways of remembering things and thinking about what you're working on so that it really sinks in.

What applications can the knowledge of these things be applied to, how has this been portrayed in media (arts and entertainment)?

[For example, one of the foodborne illnesses I'm studying for my culinary classes is clostridium botulinum. I remember botulism as what young swimmer Carl Powers was poisoned with in the mini-series Sherlock that lead to his death by drowning. (Of course, that was murder, not food poisoning but it's still a way of remembering it.)]

Calorie Counting/ Nutrition Tracking for a year on MyFitnessPal+Fitbit One (365 days = .27% per day, Day 74):

19.98%
19.98%

New Year's Resolution - Healthy Weight/BMI for Summer (June 1st, Get to about 130 lbs/22 BMI approx. in 152 days/21 weeks starting from 153 lbs = 4.35% per pound, currently 142):

47.85%
47.85%

Graduate Culinary School {20% per section: F.O.H. ( A ), Hot Foods ( C ), Garde Manger [Cold Foods], Bakeshop, Test}     Passed Certifications: ServSafe, Management

40%
40%

Fitbit, MyFitnessPal

Intro  Challenges: 1 2 Reset 3

I know how easy it is to be distracted. Especially nowadays when everything is all packed together on phones and computers.