Forums are back in action! ×

Beginning My Rebellion

Hello!

I am new to Nerd Fitness, but have been doing the Academy for about 2 weeks now.  I took a look through the forums on there, but they weren't super active so I thought I would check these ones out as well.

A little about me:

I am 30 years old, 6 feet tall and have always been "thick".  I've been married for going on 3 years and have a fur baby that is is our world - Molly, our black lab / pit bull mix. I work in the banking industry as a loan officer, so basically am tied to my desk for 40 hours a week, with an hour long commute each way to work. 

What I'm looking to get out of this is some motivation and accountability.  I really like the approach of the Nerd Fitness blog, and also the academy - the focus of small changes instead of drastic ones.  I am guilty of being the "Eager Beaver" and then crashing and burning after a couple weeks. 

So far, I've cleaned up my diet pretty easily - forgoing most grains and added sugars.  Only drinking water and coffee, and eating LOTS of salad and veggies.  I would love some easy dinner ideas, if anybody has them!  In the 2 weeks, I've lost almost 5 pounds, which is exciting but I'm sure it's mostly water weight.

I've also started doing the beginner's bodyweight workout, and that has been challenging.  Apparently push ups and me do not get along.  But I am feeling stronger with every workout that I complete!

I am hoping to lose about 70+ pounds, and also just get in shape/healthy.  My husband gained weight along side me these last 3 years, but he's currently at the "doesn't want to do anything, but hate how I look" stage.  I wish that he would do this with me, as it would be easier and keep us going, but I'm hoping that if I see some real success, he may try it out for himself.