Forums are back in action! ×

Head full of steam with a lot of goals...

Hello community, it's a pleasure to be here,

I'm John 6' and currently weighing in at 212. With a body fat % of somewhere between 16-18 (depending on your method of measure neck is 17 in waist is 36 in and used a calculator on-line)

I graduated from high school at 206 without an ounce of muscle on me and had already developed a beer belly. I then went to the Army and came out at a stunning 173. Then they allowed me to eat again and I was immediately 225 the rest of my Army Career, being on the fatboy program the entire time. It didn't help that I had a horrible drinking problem and a sugar addiction.

After I got out of the Army in 2001, I came back home and managed to keep at 225-235 but lost all the muscle I had gained. Also, my drinking had got about 10X worse. So on January 6 2004 I finally "put the plug in the jug" for good. That was great, but I gained 50 lbs in the process. Over the next 9 yrs I steadily grew, and on Jan 20 2013 weighed in at 294!!!

Enough was enough and I took action, got with a nutritionist and started running and lifting heavy (making up heavy weight routines as I went along). Dropped weight real fast and in May of that year was down to 240 and started training for my first Chicago Marathon. I got down to about 230 and then the marathon psychology came into play. "Oh I ran 15 miles today. I deserve the biggest blizzard dairy queen makes".

I didn't gain anything but I didn't lose anything. Then two months ago I deciced to give Paleo a try. I friend saw success with it so I started researching and found this site. I have to say that I am in love with it and I am dropping weight like crazy. And for the first time I am seeing the results in the mirror.