Forums are back in action! ×

Hola!

Guest Ampersand

Guest Ampersand

Hi everyone! Greetings from Spain!

I've been a lurker on this site for a while, but I finally decided to get an account! This is my first time as part of an online community; I'm super excited but also really nervous. 

I recently moved from Canada to Spain for school, I haven't chosen a major yet but I'm working towards a career in international affairs, diplomacy, or politics. I was just supposed to be here for a semester but I've been working my hardest to stay here. So far I've been granted a full year, and I'm going for a second. Wish me luck!

Throughout high school, I wasn't really overweight but I definitely wasn't thin. I didn't really have any muscle definition, and my exercise was jump-roping for 2 hours everyday to try and out-exercise an awful diet. My parents always told me that because of my genes I could never really be skinny. 

In my first semester of college I had crazy vegan, gluten-free, fat-free, cross-country roommates. I started running 6-12 miles a day and living off of tofu and fruit. I lost 20 pounds in 2 months, but I still didn't really have any muscle definition, and I was in a healthy weight range, but I definitely didn't have the fit, muscled physique that I wanted. 

When I moved to Spain my diet got a lot healthier, partially because the food here is so much cheaper. My diet is primarily meat, fish, yogurt, and lots of fresh produce. I don't eat anything processed or with added sugar; I found that I got really bad headaches every time I had sugar. I tried going grain-free but just felt absolutely awful, so I usually have a serving of oatmeal, quinoa, or brown rice at lunch.