Forums are back in action! ×

Accumulated Minor Woots

I've been losing weight for about 7 months now, down a bit over 50 pounds. I have perhaps a year more of eating at a caloric deficit ahead of me to get down to a healthy weight, so I'm in for the long haul. But I like to celebrate milestones along the way. Here's a few that have been piling up over the last little while.

Clothes - I recently replaced all my jeans, by shopping at "regular people" stores. Most places that sell decent quality but relatively inexpensive clothes only stock up to about a 42 waist, which while by no means small was too small for me when I started losing weight. I've opened up a huge amount of wardrobe choice at a much reduced price. I've already moved from XXL shirts to mostly XL shirts (though some manufacturers it's still XXL), and I'm looking forward to shifting down to L shirts in a few months.

Knees and ankles - I'm a middle aged fat guy working a job that keeps me on my feet all day (I'm a cook). I also played soccer when I was younger and in better shape, leaving me with a somewhat dodgy right leg. I had accepted mild knee and ankle pain as normal, and once every two or three months either my right knee or right ankle would get a fair bit worse, such that I'd be limping around with a brace on. Now, the "normal" pain is gone, and I haven't had a major episode since last summer. I think I have to credit squats and deadlifts for this, as well as weight loss. 

Self-image - in the gym, I sometimes watch the fat guy in the mirror - by which of course, I mean me. The most charitable thing I've been able to say about that guy is at least he's trying. Today, for the first time, I caught a glimpse of that fat guy mid rep and thought "that guy's looking good. He should keep it up."