Forums are back in action! ×

Reporting in from Thailand

Hi all!

A lil' intro, 'bout myself? I suck at these, but here goes: I'm a nerd from Massachusetts (born and raised in Ashland, studied in Worcester, wished I lived in Boston) and since I can remember I've been fat. Obese, actually according on an online BMI calculator. I've done some sports, mostly Judo and Kidde Karate (when I was younger), but never did much outside (and those McDojo type karate places aren't always the best at fitness). Long story short, after college I pack my things and move to Thailand where I get a job in the South teaching English to little kids.

As a result of coming here I was introduced to: healthy, semi-natural foods of a proper portioning, insane heat and Muay Thai which I have been doing for a few months now. And before I knew it I had lost 15 pounds (in about two months). Didn't try anything special (and I was eating ice cream almost daily) and wasn't even thinking about it, it just sort of happened. A month later and I was down 20+ pounds tot. I started cutting my ice creams.

I've been living here for about 8 months now, really gotten into fitness and exercise and found this cool site about a couple of weeks ago (some cool d00d on Fitocracy had it up) and have shed 47 pounds total. I've stepped up my muay thai intensity as I loose weight and get closer to my goals of: A six pack, A match here (I figure still at least a year off, but who knows?), a 10k (missed my chance a month ago and still regret it).

I love living here, and learning a new language and all the wonderful changed to my life it's had and I'm also glad I found NF which is pretty much the neatest thing I've found about fitness since... ever?