Forums are back in action! ×

Hi Rebels! Another newbie here, stepping up to introduce myself.

I've been chubby pretty much as far back as I can remember. I got fed up with being "the big guy" in my fraternity in college, so I decided to make a change. I started going to the fitness center with my frat brothers regularly, cut out carbs and stuck to drinking whisky&seltzers and dropped roughly 80 pounds in 9 months. I looked better, felt better, had tons of energy and was ready to leave college in take on the world.

Then I got to the world and things sucked. 

I graduated in 2009 - right around when the financial crisis was at its worst - and finding a job was TOUGH. I was able to land an internship in my field (Costume Design for film and theatre) and then hopped over to NYC in the fall where I started freelancing for small production companies. For a couple months, I felt like I was able to maintain my diet and fitness for a couple months, but slowly I started letting things slip. It was slow at first - one of my roommates would make a big batch of fried rice and offer it up to the rest of us, I'd take some, "but only because she offered. I don't want to seem rude" was how I would justify it. I would work long hours starting early in the morning and go late into the night sitting at a sewing machine trying to put the finishing touches on a show before press night, usually fueled by pizza and pop the Production Manager bought for the crew. I lacked sleep, funds to have a gym membership, and motivation to do any exercise aside from walking EVERYWHERE (cause it's NYC). It took a long time, but after six years in the city, I was back to the size I was in college, when I decided it was time to get in shape. I denied that I'd been backsliding "things are just tough right now, I'm working a lot. Once things quiet down and I get a steady job I'll be able to join a gym, eat right, and get back on track." That's what I kept telling myself.