Forums are back in action! ×

Losing the Weight Round 2, Newbie to NF

Hey everyone!  My name is Angela.  I've been reading Nerd Fitness for years but never posted on the forums before.  I'm a student (for only a few more weeks!), finishing my second master's degree (first was in Optics, second is in Medical Physics - nerd through and through!).  I'm married and don't have anything lined up for after I graduate yet.  I mostly do distance running weight lifting, but I pretty much enjoy every form of fitness really, when I have time for it - Zumba, mountain biking, tennis, yoga, you name it!  I tend to eat a more primal diet, like 80%, for health/food intolerance reasons but grad school and being on the go a lot has lead to a lot of eating out.  

A little background - a few years ago, I lost 50lbs on my own by exercising, eating right, and tracking my calories using SparkPeople.com.  I went back to school after losing my job and gained all the weigh back.  It was a combination of depression, lack of time, and energy.  I also had a bad case of insomnia for about a year.  I'm finally feeling like myself again and am ready to recommit to get back to a healthy weight and lifestyle!  My goal is to lose fat and get in better shape so I can do the things I enjoy more easily.

The plan right now is to just maintain until school is over (last find is May 8th, graduation May 17th) and then kick it into gear.  I am tracking my calories now when I have the time.  There is hardly any time for exercise until my assignments are all in.  I get a decent amount of steps while at school since it is in the city and wear my FitBit daily.