Forums are back in action! ×

Long time nerd - First time forum poster

I've been reading Nerd Fitness for around 3 years now, but this is my official joining of the community and actually posting something. And it's taken me all this time because up until now I have thought I could 'go it alone', I thought I didn't need to share and that my lack of progress was due to me not trying hard enough. But as I sit here staring at the stagnate void that is my life I have come to release I need all the help I can get.

So hello :-)

I'm Fitsy, I live in the UK (I'm originally from New Zealand) and I do video game research - it's all statistics so not that glamours. I am studying part time towards a degree in Game Design which I have been doing for the last year and a half. I go rock climbing (indoor) at lest twice a week and I recently started running again. I do a fairly good job of eating well but since my main goal is weight-loss I know I need to focus on this A LOT more.

I think the biggest issue I face is the soul-destroying boredom of my day job. I hate my job, though my co-workers are for the most part lovely (silver lining!) I want to make games for a living not advise publishers how best to market their games. I also HATE statistics - cruel irony of the universe is it's what I'm good at and what got me into the UK. I won't be finished with study for at lest another year and a half and my work visa is tied to this job so until the magic luck fairy comes by with another opportunity, I am stuck. 

This perpetual state of mind-numbing limbo really is soul-destroying; I know there is no easy / quicker way through, I just have to keep crawling along. I don't know what I'll get out of sharing with you all, I just know I need you.

Or a puppy, but my landlord won't let me have pets so I guess you're up ;-)

Thank you for listening, sorry for offloading.

- Fitsy Fitscat

• Like 1