Forums are back in action! ×

need help and accountability to respawn

I've been working out for the past 3 years.  Mostly cross-fit style with olympic style lifts.  I love the lifts!

Last year at this same time I was in great shape.  I ran a mini-marathon, I was on a paleo diet and I felt great.  Forward one year, I'm the heaviest I've ever been.  I have worked out in 4 months.  I'm on the tail end of a string of high stress situation along with injuries.  I need to get back in it.  I need help and accountability.

I don't want to get into details about the last year but the events include building a new house, had our 3rd baby (2 weeks ago), new job.  Injuries include shoulder, foot, knee and back with a "No more babies" surgery thrown in for good measure.

I stress eat, mostly carbs and have ballooned to a heavy 220.  I was at 185 last year at this time.  I'm 5-6 and have always had a musclier (thick) build.  I was 170 in my super fit high school years (with a 6 pack and everything).  I'm not 35 and get winded with taking long walks.  

With my shoulder injury, I can't do the heavy lifting anymore.  I really enjoyed the lifting and disliked the aerobic part.  I did it because the trainer made me :)  I get nausea really easy which makes exertion very unenjoyable.

I'm thinking about joining the Academy.  I love the RPG format.  I used https://habitrpg.com/static/frontf or a while and it was a ton of fun.  Would you guys recommend this path?

I'm also looking for other like me who can help keep me honest and motivated.  I hope to be able to repay the same to others.

Thanks for reading,

Neil