Forums are back in action! ×

Resistance Band usage :D

I am almost a little embarrassed to be asking these questions, but I'm totally new to this and want to make sure I'm starting out right.

I'm going to be starting the Rebel Fitness Guide on Rookie work out next week on Wed :D so I have been going through the work outs and have a few questions.

I have a set of 'adjustable' resistance bands and want to make sure I'm thinking correctly on how to use them instead of dumbbells (which are not in the budget this close to Christmas) which Steve says can totally be done, but there isn't a lot of guidance there.

My bands are 'adjustable' in that they came with 3 bands that you get to pick which one you want to clip on to use: Light, medium, heavy. It is my understanding that the shorter the band is when you are using it the more resistance is there. Does that sound correct?

My main concerns:

For the straight leg dumbbell deadlift (for example) I would want a majority of the slack in the band caught between my feet so that I am working against tension the entire way?

For a one arm dumbbell row should I put the extra length under the foot on the ground or try something more complicated like sliding it under the thing I am using for a 'bench' so that the resistance is in the right direction? Or am I just OVERTHINKING everything?? LOL

And finally for Chops at this point I should just break out a jug of water or something and not mess with the bands at all?

Thank you so much for taking the time to answer, I'm feeling anxious :D

I am my own evil twin!

~~ Paleo Challenge! ~~ Blog ~~

It is my understanding that the shorter the band is when you are using it the more resistance is there. Does that sound correct?