Forums are back in action! ×

Lord of the Rings or Game of Thrones?

I am working a job this summer that will entail a lot of driving. I got a subscription to Audible where I get one credit each month and was going to listen to books on my commute(since there's not a nerd fitness podcast, and I'm tired of morning talk radio).

So my question is do I start with Lord of the Rings series, or Game of Thrones. I've never read either, and I haven't seen either of the two movies/TV shows.

Suggestions please.

KB4RN3S the level 2 Wood elf, Ranger 
STR 2|DEX 1|CON 3|STA 2|WIS 2|CHA 0
Current challenge

"Mental toughness is to physical as four is to one."

~Bobby Knight~

"The only way of finding the limits of the possible is by going beyond them into the impossible."

~Arthur C. Clarke~ 

Hi KB!  

I've read both, and both are very good reads.  One very important thing to keep in mind is that The Lord of the Rings is a finished trilogy and Game of Thrones isn't completed yet.  There are 5 completed books out of a planned 7.  

Game of Thrones has a lot more characters and a lot of scheming and backstabbing and certain characters have beautiful character development.  It has fantasy elements in it, but it is not a fantasy world.  One really cool thing I like about it, is that each chapter is told in the perspective of a different character.  Though be warned—that also leave you in for a lot of cliffhangers!

Lord of the Rings on the other hand, has less characters to keep track of, and there is a clearly defined "good" and "evil".  Not that that's a bad thing!  I really enjoyed the trilogy, and found some sections to be quite funny, especially the rivalry between elves and dwarves, while other sections are really emotional.  The LoTR is most definitely a fantasy world so you'll get to meet all sorts of cool creatures.  And actually, I'd recommend reading The Hobbit first if you haven't already.  You don't need to, but it's a nice opener to the world.