Forums are back in action! ×

Hi! 

I've been creeping behind the scenes of Nerd Fitness for a couple months now, and just decided it's time to actually become part of the community. I am a 20 year old nerd, who has a slew of bad health habits that need to be taken care of. I have to deal with anxiety and bi-polar disorder on the daily, and I have been letting that be my excuse to not try to better myself. I feel good now though and I'm going to roll with it. 

I'm a smoker, I binge drink more than once or twice a week, and I can sit on my couch with an Xbox controller in hand without being bothered by the fact I haven't moved in 7 hours. I know I need to start moving towards a healthy lifestyle now, before I'm 40, and miserable. So I'm starting with baby steps right now.

I'm going to start by changing my eating habits from whatever I can microwave in under 5 minutes, to real food. I'm definitely a novice when it comes to cooking, so my goal here is to learn new, healthy recipes. 

I also want to find a form of exercise that I truly enjoy. I've tried a good range of cycling, weight lifting, running, yoga, and I haven't found one that feels good. I always end up feeling miserable when I work out and I want to change that. 

Obviously the smoking and drinking need to stop as well, but I'm struggling with those a lot right now.  

Thank you for reading my rant, and I'd love to hear from people who are going through the same changes so we can talk and work together!!!

Welcome aboard. You are right in that you don't want to change too much, too fast.  It's not surprising you feel bad after workouts, when you do something for the first time it's always hard. Maybe you were trying to do too much too soon.  Take a look on the blog at beginner workouts, see one that works for you, and don't try to do everything the first time.

Current Challenge

"By the Most-Righteous-and-Blessed Beard of Sir Tanktimus the Encourager!" - Jarl Rurik Harrgath