Forums are back in action! ×

I've never been entirely sure how to introduce myself, so here goes! I'm Ben, I turned 26 two days ago, and like everyone here I'm a nerd. I'm currently half way through a master's degree in Education, and I work as a line cook at the fast food dine-in restaurant known as Red Lobster. My nerdiness expresses itself in a number of ways: gaming, computers (hardware and software), music, and trivia. Ultimately, I think why I decided now is the time to change is because I realized that I'm not getting any younger and with each passing year, it will become harder and harder to reverse the trends I've caught myself in.

My battle with the bulge: I've been overweight for much of my life. I don't remember when it happened really, except that it happened when I was a kid, maybe early teens. I picked up a lot of my mother's eating habits as a child and she was significantly overweight. When I was 17, I maxed out at 280 and then lost 70 lbs. However, ever so slowly, the weight crept back up and now I'm back at 280. I've always had an interest in health and fitness, unfortunately, it usually manifests in academic knowledge, rather than applied knowledge. Every so often I get the desire to toss some weights around, but it doesn't last. Typically, I attempt to go it alone, and I've failed every time, which is what brought me here.

My NF goals:

1: Eat better. There is no way around this. No matter how much I work out, I will not be able to get anywhere without a diet that is consistent and locked in. My resolve tends to break down when there are fresh french fries from the fryer sitting there just begging to be eaten. :( So yeah, no more processed, fried foods.