Forums are back in action! ×

Level 1 n00b trying to figure it all out

Hey :)

So, I'm new to NF but not weight loss. I reached my goal weight this month after aaaages, which is great, but my BF% is still really high (in the 30's, I need to measure again).

I want to focus now on lowering BF% and getting stronger, so bought the Rebel Fitness Guide and am reading a lot on here and the NF blog. I want to go mostly paleo, adding a little brown rice occassionally and the odd drink on a night out. I'm just wanting to check I've got my info right.

When doing paleo, you don't count calories do you? You just eat paleo when you're hungry. Right?

So, if I was going to include a little brown rice (e.g. after taekwondo) would I need to count that day?

Also - though unrelated if I don't need to count - when I worked out my BMR x 1-3 light exercise sessions, my calories were 2027. That seems like a lot. I mean, I've been eating 1200 up until now (if that) and been really hungry (which makes sense). But, with paleo, do I even need to worry about this?

Sorry, it's probably an obvious questions, but I figured it's better to ask a stupid question and start right, than not ask and go wrong.

Thanks!

:)

from what i've read about paleo, you don't count calories and most posts i've seen from folks that do paleo always talk about the freedom they feel from it.

if you're not counting, i don't think it's necessary to count just because you had some rice. count if you want just for reference but, if you're eating when you're hungry and stopping when you're full, you should be good. this goes for any diet, really, not just paleo.