Forums are back in action! ×

ComradeTalls Reporting for Duty!

Hey, what's up fellow Rebels?

I'll try not to ramble on too much here, but since I'm new to the Rebellion boards, I wanted to introduce myself. My name is Joe Talls, I'm 29, and I live just off the shores of mighty Lake Superior in Marquette, MI. Although I'm new to the forums, my real fitness journey started on April 17th of this year. I'm a few months into leveling up my life, but for way too many years I had only been living at about 10% of my potential. My days consisted mostly of sleeping, eating and going to work. My nights were spent illuminated by the glow of the TV...which I usually fell asleep in front of.

Wake up. Rinse and repeat.

I had previously made a New Year's Resolution to begin making small changes in 2015 with the sole intent of improving my quality of life. But it wasn't until early April, when I tipped the scales at 270lbs. (my personal heaviest) that I decided to reclaim my fitness. Even at 6'1, I was starting to look like a blob. And heck, I had already been a big guy my whole life...I wanted to know what being a fit guy felt like.

So on April 17th, I dumped out all the soda in my house and quit cold turkey. This was a huge step for me, since I had been a heavy soda drinker for 20+ years. That was step one. Then I started exercising 2-4 times a week -- mostly hiking, tennis and walking to/from work. That was step two. I was having fun, feeling good and losing weight, but my fitness lacked structure and regularity.

That's when I found Nerd Fitness. Within a few days of investigating the website and reading the blog, I decided to shell out the $99 and join the Academy (May 18th). This turned out to be the best decision I had ever made, and following Steve & Staci's program really jumpstarted my workouts and turned out to be the missing piece of the puzzle for me.