Forums are back in action! ×

I'm a Health and Fitness Writer. It's Ironic And It Shouldn't Be.

Hi guys. This is the first time I've posted on a forum in probably nine or ten years. Once upon a time I used forums as a way to escape from life in middle school - where no one wanted to be my friend. I found friends online that shared my interests, and it got me through some really tough times. Fortunately, I grew as a person and now I have just the right amount of friends, and an active (I think it's active) social life. Anyway, though I don't know any of you, I feel safe posting here because a place just like this was once a refuge for me.

It's been a long time since then. I went to college, got myself an English degree, and went out into the world. I even got married! I make my living as a health and fitness writer online. The money is good and the work is pleasant, but I'm not a health guru. In fact, the next time you see an article that says "10 ways to get flatter abs for swimsuit season" there's a good chance it wasn't written by someone who knows what they're talking about. It was written by me or someone like me, who gets paid to google this stuff and cobble together a list of exercises and/or recipes. I got the job because I can write, and because someone asked me to do it. There was no interview process or test to prove my knowledge, it just happened. I'm glad it did, because it allows me to work from home and have the lifestyle I want, but it doesn't change the fact that I'm not exactly the poster boy for health and fitness.

In fact, I am about as far from a health expert as you can get. I've always suffered from weight problems. It was the cause of a lot of my social issues in school, and it has followed me through my life. Despite a thousand and one weak-sauce efforts to start getting healthy and eating right, it never seems to stick. Why? I'm not sure. I've certainly come up with enough excuses and people to blame.