Forums are back in action! ×

Back to nature

Newbie here and this is my first post, if it's in the wrong spot I apologize.

I got to thinking about exciting ways to "work out" without working out, and it lead me to thinking about camping.

Are there any places that specialize in camping trips geared toward moderate activity (hiking, canoeing, white water rafting, etc)?

I was thinking about planning a sort of primal living weekend trip, sleeping in a tent, cooking on a campfire, that sort of thing. What better way to practice primal living than to leave the modern world for a few days? Eating healthy and being active all day long.

Weight loss goal (38 lbs by March 21)

16%
16%

Time elapsed (Started July 27)

9%
9%

July 26 Challenge Thread

Well, there's a ton of places that do outdoorsy trips, but it all depends on where you live. I live in Maine and I'm about 3 hours from some of the best white water rafting the east coast of the US can offer. And trust me white water rafting can be a pretty intense work out. As for hiking, just go for a walk! Start heading in a direction and just see how far you can make it in two hours. And for camping you just need to find a campsite, or not, and pitch your tent then hang out. There's plenty of places all over the world for that. If you let us know where you live I bet people can offer some places to try out.

http://www.thebackpacker.com/

http://www.nps.gov/index.htm

One thing I like to do that I suppose is part of hiking, is playing around as you walk on the trail. You and maybe a friend hiking up and down mountains, seeing how big of a rock you can throw how far, climbing trees, jumping on/over falling trees etc. You can have a whole heck of a lot of fun while also burning a few calories. You can get creative or put yourself in a position of intensity like white water rafting, or just hang around. I love the idea, and I've wanted to do it for awhile, I just don't have the money/gear to do it on my own.