Forums are back in action! ×

A Conflicted Novice

Hello!

I'm a long-time Nerd Fitness reader, and a first-time Forum Joiner! I picked up weigh-lifting again in September (hadn't done that since high school), and found Nerd Fitness maybe a month after that. I'm a lifter-swimmer-runner-martial artist, with varying degrees of competence in those four sports. Well, really, I'm average to good in everything except running, in which I am horrible. I have the honour of placing last in every 2001 cross country running meet hosted in my county (back in junior high). But I started training my running again in 2009, because my martial arts school wasn't going to give me my black belt unless I could run 2.4km in 12 minutes or less.

I'd love to be able to tell you my goals, but the truth is I'm pretty conflicted about them right now. I love lifting (I've always been better at "strength" sports, really), but I keep getting minor flak about my weight and such. The boyfriend is the major source. He's not trying to be an ass, it's just that the eat-horribly-and-run-full-marathons plan is working for him. He's consistently been losing weight since we started dating five years back, and doubly so since he took up running with me, really. Now he's down nearly 80lbs. It works for him. But the long distance running isn't something I really like. I've learned while training for three half-marathons that after about an hour, running really stops being fun for me. He's tried to cajole me into running a full marathon with him (his 2nd, my first), and I've refused. His training runs took him 3 hours. I am muuuch slower, and I would spend nearly five hours out running. That is no fun, in my mind, at all. He's also quite proud of his progress, and will announce, "Oh hey! I'm only 205lbs (or some such), now! How are you doing?" Which kinda puts me on the spot, sometimes, to answer about what I weigh.