Forums are back in action! ×

Hi, I'm Mike, and I am a 26-year-old physics graduate student in Indiana. Other relevant physical stats: height: 6'3" (190 cm), weight: 175 lbs (80 kg).

First, some history. I've never been an extremely out-of-shape individual. My childhood was running around and playing outside (coupled with SMB3 on the NES), and I actively played sports and did other activities. Unfortunately, I also never really thought about training as I got older since I never had a problem with it. I was a four-year varsity and senior captain runner for my high school cross country team, played basketball, lacrosse, and ran track as well, and didn't struggle much. That continued into college and graduate school where I "famously" (to my family after telling them about my training) ran a half marathon in 1:45 and a marathon in 4:25 without training much at all. And by much at all, I mean no running whatsoever in the month leading up to the event.

n1mjMSEl.jpg

More recently, I also completed the Tough Mudder in Michigan on, you guessed it, minimal training. That event was my first wake-up call to actually start training, since I did complete the event but struggled through most of the strength-based obstacles. I did do some strength training before, but again that dropped off over a month before the event. After, I tried getting back into rock climbing, since that had also fallen off my radar due to work, but then work became even more stressful.

So, here are my goals, which signing up here and for the mailing list has already helped me with:

• stick to a training schedule (3/4x week) over the long term
  • eat healthier (more veggies, mostly) and make sure I take in enough calories
  • build upper body strength
  • Long Term: climb Mount Moran (12,605 ft/3842 m) in the Tetons

FnaZ4NGl.jpg 8DXrfnMl.jpg