Forums are back in action! ×

I wonder if I'm the oldest person here...

My journey to something approaching fitness has taken a while but I hope it’s worth sharing. 

At the beginning of 2009 I was a 44 year old mother of three, the youngest of whom had recently been diagnosed with autism, and had a fairly challenging job (I’m a lawyer).  I’d got back into shape fairly quickly after my first two kids, but my third son was a dreadful sleeper.  After my return to work when he was six months old, he became nocturnal, so as to maximise his time with me!  At the time, the only way I could find to deal with the lack of sleep was to drink coffee and eat biscuits.  Not surprisingly, not only did I never lose the baby weight, I put on plenty more besides.  I was in frankly dreadful shape.  I’m not sure how much I weighed at my heaviest but it was certainly more than 65 kg (I’m only 1.65 m tall, and have quite a small frame, so that was a lot of surplus fat) and my core was so weak that I had constant lower back pain.  At one stage my back was so bad that I was starting my day crawling around on the landing to loosen up my back and getting my older kids to bring me stomach-lining tea and toast so I could take Nurofen. Clearly something had to change…

So I started walking.  My journey to work was just a bit over 7 km door-to-door.  At first I’d be really pleased with myself if I managed to walk one-third of that distance, two or three times a week.  Gradually I got a bit faster and a bit fitter.  One day I thought, sod it, I’m going to walk the entire way, and I did it, although my legs were seriously aching.  I built it up and built it up until I could walk the whole way, three or four times a week, and do it in around an hour.  Then I started walking part of the way home too, or doing a quick power walk at lunchtime, so that I was walking about 10km a day on a regular basis.