Forums are back in action! ×

My Tale Of Woe and Regret

The year was 2009. It was January in LA, and I was working at my very first big-girl job. I was at a company surrounded by like-minded nerds, building a theme park Warner Bros. Best. Job. Ever.

Then: disaster! The bottomed out economy took out half of the themed entertainment industry and my dream job vanished like a fart in the wind.

Unemployed, but not defeated, my friend Katie and I decided that we'd use our new-found spare time to start losing weight. We gave Body for Life a try, since our friend recommended it and he had free weights in his car port. Free gym? Yes please.

So, getting by with part-time work, I started losing weight. I joined a second soccer team, and after a few weeks I graduated to P90X. It was awesome. I felt good, my asthma was gone, my skin was clearer then it had been since I turned 13, and I was kicking ass and taking names on the soccer field.

Then: disaster again! Thanks to the nightmarish state of the "grass" fields in Los Angeles, I rolled my ankle in a game and was left with a serious sprain and six weeks on crutches to deal with. That was spring 2010.

It was the beginning of the end.

I just fell apart. Once I recovered from my injury, I tried to get back on the wagon, but my dedication and results were never the same. There was a brief period between August and December of last year, that I started lifting again. And I was seeing results, but then Christmas rolled around, and I just went to pieces again. Since then this whole year has been a disorganized hodge-podge of sometimes getting my run in, and occasionally getting in a random strength work-out, and it definitely hasn't lost me any weight.

Well, no more! I have decided once and for all that I will finish the journey I started three years ago, and I'm going to do it here.

I can't wait to get started, so I'm going to go for a run.

Excelsior!