Forums are back in action! ×

ADHD + High IQ= Getting a whole lotta nothing done...

I confess. I'm an expert at procrastination. I get distracted very easily by everything. My place is the cleanest during finals, and I will call anybody to avoid doing a paper. I work well under pressure because it's the only thing that motivates me (I once wrote a 25 pg semester thesis in 24 hours because I successfully avoided it the entire semester. And got a B on it.) I've always had ADHD, but I want to put it to use for me, instead of it working against me. Part of the reason why I can't work with computers or sit down for long periods of time is because I must be active. Something drives me to get up and moving. Working out helps, but I hate cardio unless its something interesting or part of primal play. Even playing videogames can't keep me in my chair. 8 hours of gaming sessions, impossible. All day TV fests, not happening. I'm an adrenaline junkie (Obviously, I want to spend my days playing with great white sharks), and I love learning about new things. A lot of my procrastination habits are deep rooted but I know they've got to change.Yes I realize some of it is laziness :D and some of it is being a commitment-phobe. (I totally suck at relationships.) Holding a conversation with me is like flipping through cable shows because I can go off on so many tangents.

That being said folks, I've gotta finish school so I'm looking for people who have similar challenges. What keeps you in your chair, and how on earth do you motivate yourself to get things that you don't want to do, done? So tips? Advice? Swift kick in the butt?

Wake Your Dreams...