Forums are back in action! ×

Newbie Question About Soreness and Fish Oil

Hello folks,

I am new to NF and rather new to regular exercise in generally. Being so out of shape as, of course, led me to being sore. Sometimes it isn't so bad but recently I have found that sometimes the soreness impedes my ability to stick to my workout schedule (like if I am so sore that I have to take days off from major workouts because even sitting down on the toilet is brutal.)

I have searched the forums for ideas on how to combat soreness after a friend recommended fish oil for this issue. Any opinions or experiences for me on how to combat the soreness? Anyone find that fish oil helps?

"Receive without conceit, release without struggle." ---Marcus Aurelius

I guess it would make sense, I used to have to take it for my high blood pressure... so the logic seems to be the same.

Have you met the foamie rollie thingie of pain? Spend a few minutes on that thing after a workout and you'll feel less sore the next day.

That and just stick with it, I used to have trouble working after my heavy workouts. It gets better the more you do it.

You ever see those guys who look like they totally used to be in shape?
I'm working to get back to that...

Lacrosse ball or tennis ball. Rub hard all over sore muscles. Hurts like the dickens (I've cried, I'm a big man and I am not afraid to admit a tennis ball made me cry).

You are also probably experiencing what is known as DOMS, delayed onset muscle soreness. Really the only thing to do is continue working out. It gets easier. Doing the movements actually helps the soreness. I know, counter intuitive, but it does. Just don't go so hard you crumble, twinge, or crack something.

"Pull the bar like you're ripping the head off a god-damned lion" - Donny Shankle