Forums are back in action! ×

Hey folks! I've never really been good at this whole introduction thing, but it's kind of a necessity...

I'm new (gasp!), a nerd (shock!), and I'm not in the greatest shape (horror!). I'm a 26-year-old Canadian with a job that has me mostly planted at a desk. I've never actually been what you could consider fit, and have struggled with my weight for most of my life. I was the kid in grade seven that came in dead last when we had to run a kilometre (that's about 0.62 m for the folks in the States) in gym class, and that took me about 30 minutes. I was the kid who decided that chips and pop were a great idea for lunch. I was the kid whose parents saw nothing wrong with her eating the same size portions as them, and then plunking down in front of a video game for hours. So, yeah.

I'm at a point now where I'm actually a pretty good cook, and I tend to make things from scratch in a healthy manner (huzzah!). My issues are snacks (chips or ice cream = zero willpower), and getting fit. Also, quitting smoking would be good. I've recently learned that my resting heart rate is around 90 BPM, which for a woman of my age is pretty awful, and if it stays like this, I've got a really spectacular chance of having a heart attack. No thanks.

I've made the discovery that I don't hate running. In fact, I may actually like it. But don't tell running that. It's our little secret. In May, I ran my first 5K and didn't die, so that's good. I've been running at least once a week for a few months now, and I've gone for a post-lunch walk at work most days since the end of January. My goal is to start running three times a week, continue with the walking, and shave 20 minutes off of my previous 5K time.