Forums are back in action! ×

Hey everyone! I joined a ways back, honestly it was a long ways back, and never really got off to a start. So it's time to commit and get it in gear.

About me.

I'm 27, an avid pc gamer - but more and more board games are creeping in like Talisman, Sabotuer, etc - and a self taught front end engineer. I've been told I'm a craft pizza making "wizard" and just generally love to cook. Pizzas, from scratch, while camping, are my small claim to fame. I can be pretty sarcastic but when you grow up overweight (was always the fat kid in the group) you find a defense mechanism and stick to it. Learning to reign it in as an adult is whole nother matter.

Besides that I try to get outside when I can. Hiking, kayaking, camping, cycling - I love it all. Only, I tend to get distracted with games, javascript frameworks, or random crafting ideas like a diy bushcraft knife. (I will be making this knife though if it's the last thing I do)

The run down and why I'm here.

While not in terrible shape now (5' 9" and 195) I wasn't doing very good a few years back. A high stress job, death in the family, and no real support mechanisms had me miserable, 40 lbs heavier, and pretty much sick all the time. Bad diet and zero exercise didn't help much either. As luck would have it at about that time my car broke down and I decided not to fix it; instead I bought a bicycle and started riding to work. Over time I lost about 20 pounds, quit my abusive job, got one I love, and progressively things got better. But then I got stuck again. I started obsessing over my work, stopped riding to the office, and quickly found myself unhappy and having gained back about half of the weight I worked so hard to lose.