Forums are back in action! ×

I like comic books.

I like comic books. I'm kind of new to them since 2011: mostly I like Image stuff and weird things that can be found in a dollar bin, but I'm surprised too to be reading so many DC 52s (ZOMG Animal Man and Swamp Thing!). I think that came at the right time for me, since it's so hard to catch up mid-story in a story that's been told for generations. And there are not a lot of resources for getting started, and I needed to find a shop that understood that women can read too.

Also in 2011, I acquired a gym buddy. Until then, my gym going had been kind of listless and irregular. I'd show up when I felt like it, walk/run on the treadmill for awhile, pretend like I knew what I was doing with some of the machines, and then leave wondering why it never worked. My gym buddy wants to meet three times a week at 7:30 am, and so now I have a commitment. (Makes all the difference!) He knows what he's doing, so I learned a little from him at first, but I'm still pretty listless. I think it's because until today, I hadn't really had any goals.

In fact, this morning in the shower, my real fitness goals (the ones beyond the non-S.M.A.R.T "be healthier") came to me. I want to

1) run a mile (I've been working on this, and I got shin splints!)

2) do chaturanga dandasana in my yoga practice

3) do a couple other sweet yoga moves, like put my head on my feet, and curl up in a little ball while holding myself up in mid air

I guess until today I had thought I needed to have big, hairy goals, and that kind of made me freeze up. It's kind of silly though - there's no reason to imagine that if I say today "run a mile", that's not saying "run a mile and not an inch further ever."

That seems like enough introductory crazy. It's nice to meet you all!

Liz

Liz Oh

Suburban Ninja

NF Intro

Twitter: @earthliz

Pinterest: I particularly like to identify #fitspo and #thinspo that has been photoshopped.

YouTube: Comics and Civics