Forums are back in action! ×

Preeeeeeesenting: The Ringmaster

Good evening, ladies and gentlemen. I read an io9 article earlier today, followed the links, ordered the book and the next thing I know, here I am filling out my first challenge. I figured this might be a good time to handle introductions.

The boring backplot:

I'm a 41 year old professional coder in Fabulous Lost Vegas. Working behind a desk for a few years has put a few extra pounds on me and cut down on my activity more than I'd like. So here I am, looking for a little extra push to get my fitness (and other, see below) goals worked out.

More or less nerdy things I'm doing this year:

Coding but that's just my job.

Running a post-apocalytic themed burlesque and fire performing troupe. We just celebrated our 5th anniversary in November. We do a few major events across the Southwest every year and have gotten some interest from a local theater this year. We also do a handfull of photo shoots. This year we're looking at about 18-24 new acts by November (for Wasteland Weekend) and releasing a calendar.

Converting an old military truck into our mobile campsite carrier, stage and drive-in theater combo.

I just bought an old Beetle. The idea is that its the last car I'll ever need because its simple enough to work on without a mechanic for most things and even replacing the engine with a brand new one is fairly affordable.

Taking belly dance classes with some of my troupe. The teacher is trying to get us trained up to do a few numbers at local events. This is probably my biggest fitness impetus because I've got to look good on stage!

Going to the New World Magischola LARP in July. So much costume and prop work to be done!

Running the Vegas post-apocalyptic monthly meetup, although to be honest I'm trying to delegate this.

Trying to find time to go to some social events where I'm not Fearless Leader and meet someone I'd be excited to spend some alone time with.