Forums are back in action! ×

Hey everyone. Just thought I'd rant and rave a little on here.

I'm Lupus. I've been on NF for years now, but I've recently came back to this wonderful community.

I've been in the hospital doing my internship - I'm a Laboratory Medicine student in Perth, Western Australia. This involves me working - unpaid - from 8am to 4pm in the hospital. Half of this is learning new things, half is doing everyone elses work for them. Cheap labour, effectively.

Combine this with... well, some back stroy first. Most of my problems started a year agao, when I crashed my first car 4 f**king daysafter buying the damn thing. Of crouse, havin ghad it less than a week, I was uninsured. Of course, I hit another car (no one was hurt). So the final bill came to $19,000.

I am now bankrupt, but I have paid off that bill in under a year.

To do this I've sacrificed my sleep (more later), my health (I'm too tired to exercise and I simply have no time), my relationship (my girlfriend thinks that I'm becoming a horrible, right depressed little shit - and she's worryingly correct) and my entire savings so far.

So to pay this off, I've become a bartender. And it turns out I'm really rather good at it. I've worked in some of the best bars in the state, done a few competition and I'm actually starting to get recognised by other bartenders. It's a really great feeling and I lvoe my job. However - it's (obviously) night shifts. So I work from approx. 5pm to midnight.

Add in an hours travel time to get home (Perth is really, really badly deisgned) and I get about 3 hours of sleep each day.

But I'm f**king done with all this, lads and lassies.