Forums are back in action! ×

Hail Nerds. Long Days and Pleasant Nights

Good morning,

Like Adam, the Warrior I just replied to a moment ago, I too am from Hoth, aka, North Dakota.  I enlisted with the NF academy yesterday, and joined the forum this morning. 

My background is in powerlifting, and I was competitive in it until last year.  I don't claim to have been particularly great at it, but I enjoyed it from 2010 to 2015.  At 232 lb bodyweight - lifting in the 242 class - my bests were SQ 402 lbs, BP 365 lbs, and DL 475 lbs.  I completed my "compete in a competition" quest, because I've done that already... and don't know if I will do it again.  I'm not hungry for powerlifting like I once was.

I get a lot more enjoyment, personally speaking, from being generally strong, very flexible, and feeling good, using my training as a crossover point to other activities -mostly outdoor stuff - rather than the sole pursuit of 1RM strength.  So then, in my interpretation of the classes, I chose to be a Ranger.  Coming into this site, I am currently down to 216 lbs, but I want to decrease my BF and lean out while getting way more flexible and better at fluid movement.  So maybe more of a Ranger / Druid hybrid.

I am also a Nerd.  NF offers the perfect platform to mix my training activities in with my penchant for things like Coup, Shadows over Camelot, Settlers of Cataan, Star Wars X-Wing, and computer gaming as well.  I like the parallel drawn between all the games I love and 'leveling up' ones life.

I have a tendency to be fairly verbose in writing... sorry.  The last thing I want to say is this;  One of the biggest issues I will overcome is 'diet'  Mine is terrible.  Girl Scout cookies and coffee for breakfast this morning, for example.  I know this is a paleo leaning site, but I am considering trying the vegetarian thing, using things like vegetarian protein mixes and seitan as my protein sources.