Forums are back in action! ×

Iced Coffee & MTG in response to Laghail

It's been a while since I didn't go to bed until 2 a.m.

Laghail asked me what was on the docket for game night last night...  It wasn't an official game night.  Those are every other Thursday at 6 pm.  It was an ancillary game night that a close friend and I use to get our game fix during the in between time.

Another friends wife had gone to Ecuador for a missions thing.  She brought back a fantastic espresso grind Ecuadorian coffee.  I brought it over last night, and we mixed up some mean iced coffees and proceeded to immerse ourselves in the amateur stage of MTG.

This is a game I am just beginning to collect cards for, and learn to play.  Last night was in fact, the first time I have officially played with a physical deck.  Up to now, just console emulations are all I have played.  Those do not lend themselves to a comprehensive understanding of the rules, since the game itself monitors the can and cannot do aspects of each card and move.

We played 5 games, all of which I lost.  But that's OK.  My friend is an amateur too, but has played before.  He was using an intro pack - a ready to play deck.  I built mine myself from a 1,000 card collection I ordered online.  In between each game, we stopped, BS'ed, and I revamped my deck build as I was learning what worked and what did not.  Sometimes I would draw creature after creature, and no land, or not enough land, to draw enough mana to cast anything.  Other times it was the other way around... all the land I want, nothing to use the drawn mana on.  I started with a black / white deck.  Found the white not being much help, and moved to an all black mono-deck.  Then I realized I was all Land and creatures, lacking instants, sorcery, and enchantments.  So I had to adjust that... and so it went until I went home.

Right now, I have a mono-red deck built with 24 lands, and 36 creatures / sorcery / instant / and enchantment in a 14/14/6/2 split.