Forums are back in action! ×

Hello fellow nerds/rebels! 

I wanted to take a quick minute to introduce myself and tell you a little bit about me.  I'm 26 years old, and I am a professional cook.  I'm 6'2" and weigh about 280 pounds.

Now, I know that cooking in a restaurant doesn't exactly sound like a sedentary job per se, and it definitely is not.  And that's the problem I am faced with. My job is extremely physically and mentally demanding, and not being in shape makes it very, very difficult.  On busy nights, it feels like being slammed into a wall while running a marathon, and the next day I have to get out of bed and face the fact that my whole body hurts and do it all over again. Being a big guy in a busy restaurant is not a sustainable practice. 

That's where nerd fitness comes in.  I love, love, LOVE what I do, and I'm pretty damn good at it.  I don't want my being in poor shape to force me away from it in a few years.  I have dabbled in fitness on and off since high school (where I was at my most active) and much like quitting smoking, it never stuck.  But I've quit smoking, and I can do this too.  It is no secret that working in a restaurant is a recipe for bad habits, and I don't want to be the guy who can't hack it when I'm 35.

My longterm goals are just to be in better shape, and not feel like I've been in a fistfight when I get home every night.  I want to build my strength and endurance, and I don't so much care what I end up looking like along the way.  Short term, I want to drop a Chef's coat size by June 1st, from an XL to a L (if you've never worn them, an XL is like wearing a XXL hoodie, they run big)