Forums are back in action! ×

Many wagons fail to make it all the way to Oregon

I have failed. Quite spectacularly. Again.

I stumbled across an article from Steve last July 4th as I sat at the lake, recovering from my 3rd knee surgery. This pointed me to Nerd Fitness and The Rebellion. As a lifelong lover of most things "nerdy" I found a group that spoke my language a space where (I hoped) I could finally gain some traction for weight loss and health. On July 7, I weighed 297 lbs. - the most I've weighed in my life. That day I said, "no more", and launched into a quest that would ultimately leave me 80 lbs. lighter and healthier than I have been since maybe ever. 

But it didn't. Because I didn't. 

I started well - lost about 15 lbs in the six weeks or so. Then school started (I'm a college professor) and life got harder and time got shorter and 1000 other excuses that add up to I failed to choose to do the work. So here I sit, 9 months later, a whopping 3.5 lbs lighter than I was in July. This alternately infuriates and saddens me. So, once again, I'm picking myself up and setting my dusty hat back on my head to go another round in a fight that I have been losing for 35 years. I have a goal (217 lbs). I have a plan for eating (Zero Belly). I have an exercise schedule. And I'm trying to work up the (20 seconds of) courage to amass a cheering section (to this point, I've been too embarrassed to admit to friends and family that I'm trying). It all begins tomorrow morning. 

So here we go again. This time for the win!

This is what is required of you: to act justly, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God. - Micah 6:8

You can safely assume you have created God in your own image when it turns out he hates all the same people you do. - Anne Lamott, Traveling Mercies

Like pirates, sharks, monkeys, and ghosts, ninjas will never not be exciting. - Danny Wallace, Yes Man

Welcome to your respawn!