Forums are back in action! ×

Hi friends,

A little about me - a few years ago I moved from a small town to Los Angeles for college. I'm studying business, and geek out a lot about technology! I love talking about tech trends and love the entrepreneurial spirit in Socal. I also am a huge fan of avocados. :flustered:

However, I've been struggling with body image/ weight issues my whole life, constantly being told by parents that I needed to lose weight. I've never felt comfortable in my own skin.

Weight loss history:

I've consistently been gaining weight since middle school and had never seen the number on the scale drop. I participated in rec sports in college, and went to the gym for weight lifting for about 2 months, with no change on the scale, got busy, and stopped going. I've also tried diets like keto, but it was extremely hard to maintain, with no tangible results. It wasn't until last year, when I restricted my calorie intake to around 1000 per day did I see progress, and dropped about 10 pounds. However, after that short-lived success, I began traveling for a semester of study abroad. While traveling with friends, we ate out, and it was difficult to say no to high-calories meals and snacks. Next thing I know, I gained back the 10 pounds, easy.

Now, as I am wrapping up the last month to my study abroad, I still have 4 more months of traveling for a summer internship before returning back to LA. I wanted to look for workouts I could do easily without much equipment - and that's how I found NF. Definitely already trying to paleo-ize my diet. It's been difficult resisting non-paleo snacks and free food. How did you stop yourself from breaking your diet when first going paleo?

I've been looking at the workouts and diets for some time now, and today I finally took the plunge to actually try the beginner bodyweight workout. It kicked my butt. I did the warmups, got through one circuit... and couldn't get through the second. But, baby steps.