Forums are back in action! ×

New recruit from London

Hi guys and girls,

I'm Rob, and I've just signed up for the Rebel Army :) A little about me... I'm 26, and I work as a designer during the day and an illustrator in the evening and at weekends. My job means I'm at a desk for a lot of my day. I've always been skinny, and never really been able to build any muscle (although, truth be told, I've never seriously tried before).

Most of the past year, for a few reasons, has been a bit of a crappy one for me, and I've found that I've put less effort into myself. I've hardly been exercising (a certain amount of depression causing lack of motivation, along with the coming of winter and dark nights), and I wasn't eating as well as I should (I can cook pretty well, and usually ate home-cooked meals, but for at least a couple of nights a week I'd choose to work late and just buy myself a ready meal instead).

Now, I've found myself at a point where I fit right into Steve's "skinny fat" description - skinny legs, arms and chest, and a little, growing gut, and low energy for a lot of the day. It's not something I'm impressed with. I wouldn't be proud to take off my shirt in the park, come the summertime. I don't feel fit.

So, where am I today? At the beginning of the year, my circumstances changed and I realised that the things I was holding out for weren't going to come to me, and that it was time to move on and get my life back in order. I've started to get myself more organised at work, I've been keeping up with budgeting my spending, and then - by chance - I came across Nerd Fitness. I happened to click on a link in Twitter to Steve's "Open Letter to Conventional Wisdom." I had no idea it was about fitness, I just got pulled in by the title.