Forums are back in action! ×

Both Feet, Straight in...

Hey,

I'm new to the rebellion. Over the last few months I've transitioned from vague knowledge of this site to reading a few articles to picking up the book to now jumping in and starting to play the game. I'm Tim. I'm a pretty big guy. 6'5", 250 lbs. But those 250 lbs aren't what I want them to be. Far to much fluff, far too little "built like a brick sh*t house". I have a few hobbies. I've been practicing Hapkido for a couple of years and am currently a purple belt.  I play guitar, but not well yet. I am building a good workbench for my woodworking (traditional nonelectric) and I work on the ambulance a few days a week.

I also enjoy learning. I want to be fluent in Spanish, French and Italian as well as Norsk. I'm in school working towards my RN, knocking down prep classes right now. I've given myself 36 months to finish that challenge. I teach first aid, CPR and a few other classes as well in my free time.

Coming into this game, I've got a good sidekick to keep me accountable and on-track. My son, Jack, is an eight year-old who lives in beast mode. The only people I know with a motor like his are some marine corps buddies who spent their time getting physics degrees while I was partying (ikr). The kid was born motivated, and he plans to do a lot of the fitness work with me. We have to be careful with some of my contact sports goals, unfortunately, because Jack, like any good hero, has a weakness. He has hemophilia, but he has taken charge of that, and learned to stick IV's at the age of 6 (sticking me, not him) and now that he's turned eight, I'm going to let him try to give his own medication (under clooooose supervision). But, like I said, the kid has a motor. He's taken it upon himself to learn about his illness and take charge of his care. He is up to the task.