Forums are back in action! ×

Hello, all! I am Rhinsari, a 24-year-old private school administrative assistant in a moderately big city in the Midwestern United States. Call me Sari for short. I love all things Star Wars and have slowly been dipping my toes into the world of comic books. I've been lurking Nerd Fitness for a few weeks now, but this is my first time posting in the forums. I had written some long-winded post about how my slovenly lack of fitness was the fault of my upbringing, my job, health issues, where I live -- essentially, it was everyone's fault that I am an out-of-shape chubster but my own. Then I read Steve's post on sticking to your beliefs like Captain America and boy did that change my thinking drastically. I refused to stand up to myself and say, "No. I want this. I want to be better, do better for myself, and push myself." Instead, I said, "Oh, but obesity runs in my family..." or, "but my really difficult health/digestive issues make it hard to find a healthy, balanced diet to follow," and, "well, the doctor says I'm 'healthy,' maybe it's my destiny to just be fat." I placed the blame anywhere I could to make myself feel better for my lifestyle. In essence, my lifestyle is a choice. I choose to not workout. I choose to eat A LOT during the day. I choose to come home, plop myself in front of the computer and play hours of video games instead of balancing that with walking and playing with my giant Rottweiler (who ALSO needs to lose weight).