Forums are back in action! ×

Hey everyone. My name is Alex. I first discovered nerd fitness through a recent podcast with Robb Wolf. In my youth I was extremely overweight. When I graduated high school I began to modify my behavior and rather quickly dropped 100 pounds. The biggest problem though, was a lack of exercise. I've read a lot on both diet and exercise, however, implementation of exercise has been sporadic. I have always been to some degree a party person, and have often let work/partying get in the way of my health. Basically I would either do fairly well, or live in a state of absolute debauchery. I feel as if I've always just been waiting to happen, as I have no tangible progress to show. Fast forward to last August. My father suddenly died of a heart attack. I realized how much I had focused on my friends, work, and partying, instead of my family. I felt such shame, and fell into a deep dark depression. I buried myself in a bad lifestyle. Anxiety/panic attacks consumed me. I invested my time into people I shouldn't have. Finally, though I don't know how, I found strength. I started working out regularly, made great strength and muscle gains. Then I began to notice a pain in my shoulder, and had to back off of that. I continued to rehab, and worked out some, though way less. I started dating someone,  loving life, finally starting to get wind into my sails. I would soon start back in the gym and my life would be back on track right? Wrong.. My sister was just diagnosed with heart failure after mothers day. She has three years to live, unless she receives a transplant. Shortly after this news I quit/got let go from my job and me and my girlfriends relationship hit the rocks. I had lost all of my strength. I have been in a pit of deep depression/anxiety akin to when my Dad died. This is all very recent. Today is the day I end it though. I made this account, and need to become seriously focused on myself and my health. I need to cultivate my strength. I c