Forums are back in action! ×

Hi, I'm new here and wanted to say hi! I'm a high school math teacher with a pile of weight to lose and a desire to get strong. I'm still working out in what capacity I want to get strong. I think I'm leaning toward druid but not for sure. Hah. My spirit animal is a panda. I'm a lifelong nerd married to the football player. Erm, I'm not really sure what else to share. Anyway, hi! 

• Like 1

Hi back! And welcome. 

Its funny, there's been a few teachers start recently. I wonder why that is... Summer holidays anyone? :D 

How you use the forum is up to you. You can start a Battle log and use it to track your progress, you can take part in challenges, simply soak up information and use it to improve your workouts/eating etc, or just hang out in the Chat Room. It's totally up to you. :) 

I like to recommend the 4 Week Challenges to people because it makes you an active participant in the forum, lets you meet other members, form friendships and get some accountability. They're also a really good tool to help you reach your long term goals by breaking them down into smaller, short term goals which I think is important in keeping you motivated.

It's a tough slog to just keep working away toward losing 50lbs (for example) and trying to change everything all at once - eating better, exercising more, cutting soda, stop smoking..... Arrrrrgh! 

But if you have a challenge to, say, cut out soda over 4 weeks. Then go on to do another challenge to eat vegetables with one meal every day for 4 weeks and to use the stairs at work instead of the lift. You can focus on making small changes at a time, and make them lasting changes! And all the while you're getting support and advice from your fellow nerds  Coz we're like that. ;) 

sorry about the weird fonts, my phone and the site don't get along. :P 

Make Life Rue The Day                             Turning back the clock                                                Recipe book  14